Lessons Learnt in Year 3

Happy 3rd Anniversary to Musings with Mo!

img_3591

 

It is truly a blessing to have a platform to express thoughts and lessons learnt throughout life. I find myself growing and learning so much through what is inspired on this blog daily. What was started as a way to document growth and grow a community of lifelong learners and those that are able to contribute to personal growth as a young adult as well as a believer in Jesus Christ has turned into a passion project and hopefully a community resource. Recently, I had found myself striving and wanting to work on ways to grow the audience of the blog. Come and see me sharing the links and doing all the fancy razzmatazz to get more people to read the content. However, I had also began to realize that I have to be careful not to isolate or neglect those that have always been a supporter of the blog since its establishment. Moreover, it is pertinent to understand that there is no need to chase popularity, the quality of the content will continue to speak for itself.

In a world that constantly forces us to prove our worth it is time to challenge the status quo and practice what we preach and let purpose be a guiding light in everything.

Back to the Basics (Foundation)

It is time to go back to the basics and the foundations of the blog and remind new followers as well as established followers that we are still on the matter of purpose.

Therefore, allow me to re-introduce the blog;

Musings with Mo Jun 2020 logo

 

Vision:

To encourage and inspire a community of learners dedicated to growing and walking in our God-given purpose and mission on Earth. Passionate about knowledge translation and communication with creative young adult Christians.

Gratitude

Firstly, I want to thank all those that read this blog, either subscribed via email or otherwise. Those that message me with words of encouragement, support and feedback (that means so much to me, God bless yall!). Those that like the posts and leave comments on the blog posts and also connect with us on our social medias. Those that share with others visibly and under the radar, you are all truly appreciated and you make the whole process worth it.

Major Lessons Learnt in Year 3

1. Practice makes Progress

Legendary players like Allen Iverson inspire me to continue to work on my craft and passions. Lol, the context of this might not necessarily align with the intention but we can always know that with practice and diligence to a craft we get better at it. We have to exalt progression above perfection. One might not be the best writer, designer, communicator or whatever but we keep trying! Never giving up. When we encounter what seems like challenges and barriers we continue to press forward. Note: not strive but we press through. #WeMove2020

“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.”

Philippians 3:12 (NLT)

2. Stop people pleasing

When creating content of any kind it is very easy to start to pander to societal expectations and seek external validations. There is nothing wrong in taking stock of your audience and what they may need and what might be useful for them but at the same time, one has to be careful not to seek validation from external sources and by people’s likes, shares and comments. I have had to learn through a process that it is vital to keep focused and let God be the center of it all. When I find myself entering this striving and a head space that can be quite toxic, I have to remind myself to go back to my first love and rediscover why I started writing in the first place.

(Sidenote: You should check out the song by Hillsong Young & Free).

It starts by working on the ‘people pleasing ‘ mentality. Make the vision plain and commit it into the hands of God, whether the people follow or not.

“Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”

Colossians 3:23 (NLT)

 

3. If you want to learn something or become better at something it’s up to you to take the necessary steps.

One of the good things that has come out of this quarantine situation has been watching and being able to actually research the different aspects of a blog. There’s so much that goes behind the scene that one doesn’t even know about!  Reading about technicalities including analytics like Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and the likes has been quite interesting. Although, it has been slightly overwhelming but also just learning how to have a continuous branding/marketing theme throughout the blog. Now, I don’t know how much of these information I’ll implement but still it’s nice to know about it because as they say ‘knowledge is power‘. Beyond that reaching out to people and just doing more research on topics and ideas I personally am interested in or would like to try. I am learning that it is necessary to take initiative for my own growth and development.

“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.”

2 Timothy 2:15 (NIV)

prayers

 

I pray that we may always be inspired by our father in Heaven to follow our dreams and goals. May God continue to be our sustainer and the source of our strength and life. May He teach us in and out of season what it is He requires of us and teach us how to bring that vision to life to the glory of His name in Jesus name.

It is well with our souls in Jesus name. Year 3 is gonna be legendary!

Stay tuned!

#PursuePurpose

Mo 🙂

 

Published by MusingswithMo

A young woman on a mission to discovering purpose, to inspire growth and contribute to the Kingdom mandate. On the blog we are all about learning and growing and this is done through writing on topics from Faith, Education, Music, Food, Travel and so much more... (Romans 12:2)

Leave a comment